“For God so loved the world that he gave his one and only Son, that whoever believes in him shall not perish but have eternal life. For God did not send his Son into the world to condemn the world, but to save the world through him.” (John 3:16-17)

Most days, I crash.

Right after coming home from school. I throw myself on the couch. I am unconscious in about ten seconds. Totally spent.

A troubled boy swore at me while waving his fist in my face. An underperforming girl sneered at me after serving a detention, declaring, “My mom’s not going to be happy about this.” A parent yelled at me accusingly that his son is failing my course because he thinks I’m boring. A fellow teacher refused to share materials with me when I was unexpectedly assigned to his course the day before the start of school. I’ve just been told a funeral is being held for an ex-student who has just committed suicide…

Not every day is so unpleasantly eventful. But these incidents are a regular part of the job.

And this is just my small world.

Then I read or watch the news: people are getting mowed down by a terrorist truck while celebrating a national holiday; others suffer the same fate while walking to work on the sidewalk; another teenage girl has committed suicide after being relentlessly bullied on the Internet; our government is contemplating removing the word “God” from our national anthem – too subversive, indeed! A convicted terrorist is being awarded millions of dollars because his “human rights have been violated” while his victims are ignored; a man and woman have been convicted of beating their toddler to death…

Now, especially with social media, everyone has an opinion on everything that happens: “You’re an idiot!” or “You don’t know what you are talking about, you *&##@#$!!” or “Go crawl back under your rock you bleepin’ bigot!”

I never used to understand why some Christians talk about “hastening the day of the Lord.” I mean, life isn’t easy, but do we really want to end it all?

I’m beginning to get it now, more and more. On the days when I am so angry, fed up with it all. This insane world. I reject it. Want to curse it. “You can go to $#@(&*^$@&, world!”

But the more I hate it, the more I realize my powerlessness. I can pipe in with my vitriol, become bitter and closed and hateful…and it wouldn’t change a thing.

God loves this world. This is why He sent His Son. To save it. Not condemn it.

And if the Perfect God can love it, love me, who am I to condemn it?

“These things I have spoken to you, that in Me you may have peace. In the world you willhave tribulation; but be of good cheer, I have overcome the world.” (John 16:33)

The Power of Love.

It is the only thing that changes anything.

 

 

Leave a Reply

